The Catenary Wires

The Catenary Wires' third album, Birling Gap was released on 18 June 2021, preceded by 7" single Mirrorball (a love song inspired by eighties discos). Both are released on Shelflife Records (US) and Skep Wax Records (UK and rest of world). The album is now available for pre-order from good record shops and via Bandcamp.

Birling Gap is a significant place. On the South Coast of England, it’s where steep chalk cliffs resist the rough seas of the English Channel. It’s where iconic images of England are created and re-created. On Birling Gap, the Catenary Wires have listened to the songs and stories England has comforted itself with over the decades and re-imagined them.  

The Catenary Wires formed in 2014, initially as a duo. Amelia Fletcher and Rob Pursey had previously been in Talulah Gosh, Heavenly, Marine Research and Tender Trap. The first Catenary Wires album Red Red Skies (Elefant/Matinée Recordings, 2015) was a marked departure from the fuzzy girl-group pop of their earlier bands. It was sparse, emotive and melancholy. A one-off 7" single What About The Rings? followed (WIAIWYA, 2018).

With the release of their second album Til The Morning (Tapete, 2019), the band expanded to include contributions from Andy Lewis on bass (ex-Spearmint/Weller Band), Fay Hallam on keyboards and backing vocals (ex-Makin' Time) and Ian Button on drums (ex-Thrashing Doves/Death In Vegas). The sound was getting bigger, although the core of the band remained the dual vocals of Amelia and Rob. With the third album, everyone is involved and The Catenary Wires are a fully-fledged five-piece band.

The band’s name refers to the chain of curves made by the overhead cables seen suspended from pylons or above electric trains, cables that can seem to lead you off to somewhere different and unknown.

Recent comments on Mirrorball

The new single by @catenarywires – a duet whose lonely protagonists meet at an 80s disco – is my favourite thing they’ve done. Pete Paphides on Twitter.

“Mirrorball” is a song of joy and regret, innocence and experience that’s both reminiscent of the past but also up to date with the present.Having initially started the band as a duo - founder members Amelia Fletcher (vocals,guitar) and Rob Pursey (guitar) recruited Fay Hallam (keyboards), Ian Button (drums) and Andy Lewis (bass) for The Catenary Wires’ latest incarnation. Which if “Mirrorball” is anything to go by, might just be their most inspired and fulfilling piece of music to date. Under The Radar

The Catenary Wires, following a track record that features Talulah Gosh, Heavenly, Tender Trap and Marine Research, are rightly revered as indie pop deities. Their new track Mirrorball is a homage to those (indie) disco days, with beautifully observed couplets and the sort of tune that’s so ridiculously catchy it spreads a little joy wherever it goes. Backseat Mafia

The Catenary Wires, the current group of indiepop royalty Amelia Fletcher and Rob Pursey (Talulah Gosh, Heavenly, Tender Trap), just released a new single, "Mirrorball” which is a boy-meets-girl tale about a couple of divorcees who fall for each other at an '80s-themed dance night. It's sweet, charming and, as you'll learn, a true life tale. Brooklyn Vegan

Tour dates

Click on each sleeve for details and to buy



Amelia Fletcher

(vocals, harmonium)

Rob Pursey

(vocals, guitar)

Fay Hallam

(Hammond organ, backing vocals)

Ian Button

(Drums, backing vocals)

Andy Lewis

(Bass, production)


Live videos

Other music

As well as Catenary Wires, the various band members have a variety of other musical activities.

Rob, Amelia and Ian play in Swansea Sound with Hue Williams (ex-Pooh Sticks). Their debut single 'Corporate Indie Band' was released in October 2020. Their second single 'I Sold My Soul On eBay' was released in January 2021, with a single 7" sold via eBay auction. Their third single 'Indies of the World' was released in March 2021 on 'Labels of the World': Skep Wax, HHTBM, Formosa Punk, Lavender Sweep, and Shiny Happy Records.

Rob, Amelia and Ian play in European Sun with Steve Miles. Their debut album was released in October 2020 on Wiaiwya.

Rob and Amelia play in The Drift with Darren Pilcher. In November 2020, they released a poetry/music collaboration with Canterbury-based poet, Nancy Gaffield. Pamphlet and CD by Longbarrow Press. Digital audio from Skep Wax.

From 15th August 2021, Tenterden Museum is hosting an exhibition based on the work: From Wood To Waves: A Journey Through The Weald.

Fay makes music in her own name and also in Il Senato with Andy.

Ian has his own band, Papernut Cambridge.

Andy and Ian play in Louis Philippe and The Night Mail with Robert Rotifer.

Rob and Amelia also run the Skep Wax record label, while Ian co-runs the Gare du Nord label.